top of page

"REPRESENTITIVE", Surviving the Dreaded Task that Leaves Us with a Twitch

Let's be truthful. Our average lifespan is somewhere between 73 and 80 years. Yet, we spend what feels like decades calling to correct an issue with a bill, screaming "REPRESENTITIVE" at the automated voice that has demanded you repeat yourself for the hundredth time, or the most physically draining task of teaching yourself to salsa, waltz, or mambo to the classic hold music that has kept you there for 30 plus minutes.

Now, I'm not going to sugar coat this, but we are a bit behind on our car payment. Life happens. Three weeks ago, I was told that I could push payments to the back of the loan if I made two payments. Did it. Guess what, three weeks later I found myself back on the phone with the nicest most apologetic woman......Because it needed to be three payments, not two. Now realizing that I have found myself once again in the position of doing the companies job for them, I attempted to interrupt this friendly and overly chatty woman multiple times as she lovingly explained to me what a crap show my finances and credit situation was becoming. After being lectured for 45 minutes (I'm not exaggerating) by the kind stranger, she finally allowed me to inform her that I had experience working at a bank and that I was more than aware of the tragedy my financial status has become. Then I pleaded with her to just let me schedule the payment and fix the account.

"Quality" customer service is not foreign to me. I've worked for a bank, as a server, done telemarketing, and cashiered at a grocery store. In the industry it isn't lost on me that there is this goal and that goal, AAANNNDDD if you do an exceptional job at meeting those goals you may receive the prestigious honor of earning a pizza party for your team. Or even better 10 points towards the 200,000-point dream prize on the company's reward store. YAY! I'll quit or better yet, die before I reach that. With all that being said, from the customers point of view we just want to fix what "ya'll"(the company) screwed up and get the heck off the phone. PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!

Looking for a quote for anything at all? Well, your options are regretfully entering your phone number into a mass data base and becoming the proud recipient of thousands of phone calls in a 24-hour period that extends up to, but not limited to, a month. Or there is the 2nd option of entering your information that may include your date of birth, address, middle name of your second cousin, date of your last menstrual cycle, your worst personality trait (mine is being impatient);"how much bodily injury coverage would you like to carry?" Well, mam, I'm going to require the most I can carry if you don't get on with it"! Of course, then after another year of your life goes by, they quote you a price that leaves you blinking like a deer in headlights leaving you truly in consideration of raising that bodily injury coverage. Sometimes, I just hang up until I have the energy to dedicate to this irritating task again.

However though, we must remain civil through all of these ordeals, because they are after all just trying to do their job, which is what we actually say we want anyway. But, DANG I just asked for an apples to apples quote. Now, I have supplied you all with ALL of the apples I can give today, so just give me the quote or correct the situation. For crying out loud, "REPRESENTITIVE"!

56 views

2 Comments


burkesarah743
Aug 06, 2023

I scream let me speak to a representative so many times its insane! or I catch my self saying I apologize but I can’t understand you do you mind saying that again. You aren’t alone! love you 😘

Like

witte14u
Jun 30, 2023

Are you sure you didn’t tap into my phone today? 🤣 I’ve been on the phone all day with a doctor’s office twice, a Pharmacy 3 times, two insurance companies ,and a roofing company! I wondered how to collect the salaries for all the jobs I had to do for all these people today! Seriously made me laugh SO HARD!!! Thanks for keeping it real. 👏👏👏👏👏

Like
IMG_9055.jpeg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Find your ability to laugh and gain perspective in the everyday happenings of life! I'm so glad that you found your way to my blog to bring a bit of comedic relief to your day.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • TikTok
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page